Groceries and Little Man

loaded-bike-with-talAs you can see here, Tal and I went on a grocery run, to Dollar Tree and Mal Wart.  This is probably the maximum amount I can carry with his 30+ pounds on the back.  I had to put him on first, then load the groceries around him.  I have a special bungie cord I carry along now to keep the front wheel straight while I load the front rack.  the-goodsThis is the load.  Those are 3 litre bottles, a little heavier than I am used-to.  The bird seed will be mixed with scratch feed for the chickies. 

It feels a little strange, pulling out onto Crawfordville Highway with a bicycle loaded to bear with groceries and my son, with huge pickup trucks and SUV’s all around us.  We aren’t the only ones here that use alternative transportation means, but there certainly aren’t many.  One elderly lady has an electric-powered three-wheel bicycle, and rides all over the county with it.  That thing can book!  I don’t think I could keep-up with her if I were to try.  She appears to cruise along at about 20mph.  I can attain 21mph, but with a good tailwind in third gear.  I have seen one family walk to the store with their wagon and park it at the bike rack.  Otherwise, it’s just the odd person on foot.

I know that attitudes are changing in this country about our fuel usage and folks are wising up to alternative transportation, but being in a small town in Northern Florida, it’s hard to tell by looking around.  I know that auto and truck traffic on Crawfordville Highway hasn’t lessened any that I can see.  People will tell us that it’s so good that we ride our bikes everywhere, but they don’t want to try it themselves.  Since when did people get so lazy?

4 thoughts on “Groceries and Little Man

  1. Something i’ve wondered about myself. It isn’t half as bad here, but the pervasive attitude of ‘Go where I want, when I want, with no effort’ is still there when we talk to people…

  2. Post-WWII American culture unabashedly glorified laziness. Even in the 1920s and 1930s, companies marketed their products as things that would make life easier. This trend accelerated during the 1950s, as the ideal of American life became “easy.” People became lazy and impatient because they were literally told by the corporations selling them appliances, cars, etc. that it was their right as citizens of the greatest democracy in the world to have everything they wanted at the touch of a button. This sense of entitlement has only grown since, I’m afraid.

  3. It’s funny that there is a so-called obesity epidemic here, and they want to change our food rather than encourage people to get off their duffs.

  4. Right! I think we also have this idea that we can innovate our way out of any problem. As much as I’m down with a culture of innovation, sometimes the simple solutions are the best. Another interesting thing is that we’re still eating as thought we were still a nation of farmers and heavy industrial workers–high calorie, high fat food that wouldn’t be killing us and making us fat if we were actually physically working hard enough to burn/need all those calories. On the rare occasions when I find myself in a Cracker Barrel, I’m constantly amused by the “Farmer’s” breakfasts, which would keep an actual farmer going until supper, but are consumed by FAT elderly men and women whose sole morning activity will be climbing back in the Winnebago and driving another 100 miles.

Leave a Reply

