Grocery Run

light-setup-front-viewThis is the headlamp I am currently using on the Beast.  A little aggravating to attach and aim, but definitely bright enough to see by.light-setup-sideviewThis lamp came with a Rigid 18v drill and sawzall set I purchased from Home Depot back when I was doing alot of A/C installs and duct work.  It has been very handy, especially for home projects that go longer than expected and are finished in the dark.  The hand towel keeps the light from moving around over bumps and also aims it.  I put more folds in the back than front to get the beam on the ground several yards in front of me.  The battery has a 2 hour run time, and charges within 30 or so minutes.  One thing I don’t like about this lamp is that the batteries have to be run down in order to recharge, and the quality of light is good right up until it peters-out, so I have to carry a spare battery with me if I go out at night.  There is a Lithium Ion battery available now, but I have other things needing purchase right now, so it’s on my to-buy list.typical-load-of-groceries-on-the-bikeI decided to go to Mal Wart this evening to purchase some groceries, so I thought I would show a typical haul.  I hadn’t anticipated it, but this photo also shows the reflective signal arrows I sewed to the backs of my riding gloves.  Those are kevlar work gloves, normally used by meat cutters and sheetmetal workers.  They have rubber nubs that are grippy, breath well, have all the abrasion resistance I could need, and are durable, going on their second season (first season was commuting on the scooter).  I have tried a number of cycling and motorcycling-specific gloves over the years, and have found most of them wanting in the area of durability.  Such gloves just seem to be made of too thin materials and thread.  typical-grocery-load-off-bikeTwo gallons of milk, chips, banannas, and a half-gallon of ice cream.  This is typical for me.  We generally get small quantities at a time.  After looking at this picture, I realized that I really should purchase some reusable shopping bags.  Sure, we use the plastic bags for all kinds of things and also bring them back to the store for recycling, but it would be better to not use them in the first place.  Also on my to-purchase list…

4 thoughts on “Grocery Run

  1. I love the jerry-rigging. Great idea. Necessity is the mother of invention and all. I happened upon your web site through Totcycle. I love your topics. Thanks for sharing. My sons have been badgering me to get chickens. Any wise words on how to start up (simple, easy, cheap) so that we can get started but save the big plans for after we figure out how our own unique chicken raising will work?
    Cheers,

  2. My word, that light is substantial! I guess you lose some cargo space up front, but you can still fit a bag or two, looks like. That arrows-on-the-glove idea is genius, BTW. Makes me wish it was cool enough around here to wear gloves.

  3. Travis- When we first started a year ago, we got 1 chick and put her in a big plastic tote (we had around the house) with a heat lamp and a 25 watt red bulb (both are pretty cheap at Wal-Mart). A few days later we got a couple more chicks and they also lived in the tote until they started to really fluttered about, they were then moved to a black wired dog kennel we had lying around. They stayed there until we were able to get the little house built. Hubby got all the materials from dumpsters at the construction sites (free). Later batches of babies were raised in the bathroom shower until they were big enough to move outside. Hendri and Piggledy are being raised in an outside brooder area with mama and the newest chicks are in a sectioned off area in the store room. Start small and be careful because they are addicting. 🙂

  4. Thanks, all! And happy St. Patrick’s day, Erin go Braugh! Travis, love the stabilus rackii article, very clever. I love describing inanimate objects as species. As far as chickens go, one way I thought about starting chickens on the cheap is with two pullets, a doghouse, and a homebuilt tractor of about 8’x3’x3′ using recycled wood, 30′ of 3′ high chicken wire and hardware staples. A tractor is simply a moveable, bottumless chicken cage. If you cannot find leftover wood from a construction site, any store with lumber will have a rejects pile they will sell for cheap. Modify the doghouse for mesh-covered vent holes, a latchable door, a bar or two to roost, and possibly a nest to lay in. The tractor makes it so you only have to clean the house, just move the tractor for a fresh yard every day. Tractors aren’t super secure against nighttime prowlers, so latch the door to the house when the chooks go to bed at night.
    Thom, sometimes I just strap the light on top of the load. If you think it’s hot there, try adding a bit of humidity. I sometimes miss the dry heat of California when I’m baking in my own sauna.

Leave a Reply

