My scarf

Ok a couple of weeks ago I decided that I would learn to knit. My ultimate goal is to learn how to knit socks. Off to Wal-Mart I go and I purchase a set of size 8 needles, a book and a skein of black acrylic yarn.  First step was to read the book and then practice what was in there. Boy was that an adventure in frustration. I learned real quick that black is not really a good starting color to use. I did finally get online to do some research and found some places with videos to watch. I found by watching other people I was able to pick up easier ways to do things. Next step was to practice….practice…practice. Once I believed that I had it down I needed to create something and the easiest thing out there seem to be a scarf. I thus found a pattern I liked and off I went. Well needless to say, things didn’t go off as smoothly as I expected. I dropped stitches, unraveled my scarf, added more stitches than necessay,and had to start over at least 3 times. Despite all my setbacks I have gotten quite far. In fact I am almost halfway through. I decided to do half black, half green. Here is the black side:

scarfI have learned a lot about knitting though. It is amazing what mistakes can teach you. I think it looks pretty well considering this is my very first one. I now need to go study how to switch color and practice it, so that I can add the green. I am hoping to add some fingerless gloves to match once I increase in skill.

scarf-2Here’s a close up. Getting the tension right seems to me to be the hardest thing. I have discovered though if I put my ball in a box and let out only enough yarn to do a row, it becomes easier.

2 thoughts on “My scarf

  1. It looks great! I like the green on it. Even though Austin thinks it would look better all black….what does he know about fashion anyhow, he’s 9!

  2. Thank you! I can’t wait to see how little man’s sweater will turn out. LoL Austin gives freely with his opinions. 😀

Leave a Reply

